Specialist High Skills Major
Specialist High Skills Major
Specialist High Skills Major

Program Message

The Specialist High Skills Major (SHSM) program, which is part of the Ministry of Education's Student Success initiative in the province of Ontario, has been introduced to offer province-wide specialized programs in specific ministry-identified sectors to support the success of all students.  Ontario secondary schools are offering expanded programs to help meet students’ individual learning styles and interests.  These options include Dual Credits, Specialist High Skills Major and Co-operative Education.  These programs help to meet the needs, interests and strengths of all students, engaging them in learning and better preparing them for graduation and beyond.

 

Students who choose an SHSM designation learn through co-operative education and experiential learning placement within the community.  Students who complete an SHSM designation can be confident when they leave high school that they are equipped with the knowledge, skills, and industry-recognized qualifications desired by employers and post-secondary institutions. Niagara Catholic is proud to be partnered with many local businesses and agencies within the Niagara Region to offer its students rich and diverse opportunities to gain practical experience and expertise in their chosen career fields.

Contacts:

Blessed Trinity Catholic Secondary School

Josephine Moretuzzo

Guidance Program Chair

905-945-6706

josephine.moretuzzo@ncdsb.com

 

Denis Morris Catholic High School

Dino Petruzzi

Guidance Program Chair

905-684-8731

dino.petruzzi@ncdsb.com

 

Holy Cross Catholic Secondary School

Liz Thomson

Guidance Program Chair

905-937-6446

elizabeth.thomson@ncdsb.com

 

Lakeshore Catholic High School

Pina Griepsma

Guidance Program Chair

905-835-2451

pina.griepsma@ncdsb.com

 

Notre Dame College School

Dave Fucile

Guidance Program Chair

905-788-3060

david.fucile@ncdsb.com

 

Saint Francis Catholic Secondary School

Michelene Hauber

Guidance Program Chair

905-646-2002

michelene.hauber@ncdsb.com

 

Saint Paul Catholic High School

Julio Candeloro

Guidance Program Chair

905-356-4313

julio.candeloro@ncdsb.com

 

Saint Michael Catholic High School

Chris Zanutto

Guidance Program Chair

905-356-5155

christopher.zanutto@ncdsb.com

Board Contacts

Niagara Catholic Education Centre

Ivana Galante

Consultant:  Business-Technological Education/SHSM/OYAP

905-735-0240 x121

ivana.galante@ncdsb.com

 

Niagara Catholic Education Centre

Jennifer Pirosko

Dual Credit Teacher/ School College Work Initiative/ SHSM

905-735-0240 x190

jennifer.pirosko@ncdsb.com

All trade-marks are owned or used under license by Niagara Catholic School Board ©2016